Freedom of Suppression

Here’s a report about some missing interviews with [deleted] and what’s preventing me from conducting them.

So now I’ve been asked by someone close to the situation to take down the video describing this situation. Despite serious skepticism — censoring a post dealing specifically with censorship strikes me as something straight out of 1984 or the Bush White House — I’ve decided to accede to this person’s wishes. Maybe there’s more to the story than lawyers clamping down on freedom of expression in this American town.

Explore posts in the same categories: Filmmakers

10 Comments on “Freedom of Suppression”

  1. NB Says:

    Hmm. This is intriguing.

    “Maybe there’s more to the story than lawyers clamping down on freedom of expression in this American town.”

    So there was a legal threat?

  2. john doyle Says:

    One of my sources for this story asked that I not divulge until (a) I’ve been apprised of all the facts and (b) those implicated in the situation have been restored to good graces outside the glare of the limelight. One only hopes this doesn’t mean something analogous to a one-way ticket to Guantanamo or a gag order. I wait to see whether my cooperation will be rewarded with a more detailed scoop; unfortunately, I expect the stonewall gambit to be instantiated. If I hear nothing by the end of the weekend I’ll re-open the can of worms, a bit at a time.

  3. john doyle Says:

    Thursday morning, just after I posted the now-deleted video, I emailed two acquaintances whose work may have been directly affected by the very form of suppression I highlighted. I invited these two people to comment here, either in writing or on video. That neither has done so suggests a few possibilities: indifference, fear, loyalty to someone directly involved in the incident in question.

  4. john doyle Says:

    I can easily imagine turning this thread into an ongoing fiction. The premise is set: some activity in town has been suppressed; I reported on it, then under suasion and perhaps even under threat I suppressed my own report. In my experience truth is rarely stranger than fiction: what fun I could have had by inviting people to comment about this story on video without ever explicitly stating what the story is. We could have alluded to weapons, drugs, arson, extortion, political scandal, missing persons — all without ever coming right out and saying who allegedly did what to whom where and when.

    But I think I’ll leave it alone. Maybe some day I’ll report what really happened, which in all likelihood will prove to have been a tempest in a teapot.

  5. NB Says:

    A tempest in a teapot?! No wonder it was suppressed!

    “The premise is set: some activity in town has been suppressed; I reported on it, then under suasion and perhaps even under threat I suppressed my own report.”

    Sometimes I forget my keys and then go back and look for them and then forget what I was looking for and then forget I was looking. It’s some kind of suppression…

  6. john doyle Says:

    You’re right, NB: now I’m underplaying the truth. Okay, here’s what I’ll do: I’ll write a new post, withholding the names to protect the innocent/guilty, outlining the issue.

  7. NB Says:

    Cool.

  8. john doyle Says:

    It’s been nearly a month since I put up and immediately took down this video, and I still don’t know any more about the situation or its resolution than I did then.

  9. NB Says:

    Don’t worry, one day it will out.

  10. john doyle Says:

    The investigation continues, though at a slow pace and a few hundred paces’ remove from the event itself. Again, maybe the fictional version will prove the more interesting.


Leave a Reply

